Reading, Writing and Arithmetic Part 1

Reading, writing and arithmetic, still plaguing me after all these years. It is not the conventional abc’s, 2+2=4 or handwriting that I refer to. No, it is finding enough time to work in all these important tasks into a 24 hour day.

The “Reading” is probably the easier challenge of the three. I have added audio books to my listening pleasure as I taxi my gold mini van to school, ballet, lacrosse and now the rehab center where my mom is convalescing. It is a great way to get one’s “to-read” list shortened with added benefits to this style of reading. An audio Book truly helps one stay sane through all the traffic jams, detours and when the volume up high, it is surprisingly good at drowning out those *darn kids arguing in the back seat.  *For any negative knee jerk reactions from parents reading this, please allow me to clarify that I love and adore my children. My husband and I know how blessed we are to have our 10-year-old triplets, however, in the real world it can get a little stressful sometimes being in a confined van together for hours on end. Popping in Sense & Sensibility is a positive way of dealing with stress than screaming back at the kids.  In other prettier words….Audio Books can create complete family harmony in a mini van, try it I bet your stress level goes down as soon as you push play.

My only warning using this “audio book method” is to pick books that would be proper for younger ears to hear. Being a Jane Austen fan, I can safely listen to Pride and Prejudice, however, P&P sequels by Sharon Lathan would not be suitable for any kids under 17 years old.  Therefore, I have the books I can pop in while my kids are in tow, and books I pop in for me when driving solo. Ice lattes are good to drink when listening to the steamy Mr. Darcy, Lathan so generously bestows onto her readers. Find out more about Sharon Lathan’s P&P series here: http://sharonlathanauthor.com/sharons-novels

I also recommend having kids pick out audio books for the rides around town as well. A few great recommendations for the 9-12 year olds crowd: The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling,  The Strange Case of Origami Yoda” by Tom Angleberger and for some good comic relief, The Diary of the Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney.

My husband has also assisted to my “lack of time to read dilemma” by purchasing a Nook for our anniversary.  I may add books in an instant, the long wait for the UPS truck to turn down my street with that Amazon box is over, and being 139th out of 140 people on the wait list for the most desirous titles will be lessened a great deal.  Not making a trip to the local Barnes and Noble can also be less frequent, however I have not been able to say this was ever a chore.  Having time to walk into B&N is always a delight for me. Sippng on a Mocha Latte and perusing through the endless book shelves, while listening to beautiful music chiming throughout the store is a “chore” I would rather keep on my to do the list.

And now the dreaded arithmetic of the day forces me to sign off for now, however, I will continue my thoughts on how to fit in reading and writing in the crazy chaos we all call life…for now we part.

About lovesjaneausten

A proud wife, triplet mom, and a lover of all things Austen. I love to read and reread Austen's delightful novels, sequels written by Janeites and hope to someday have my sequel (in progress) to be published.
This entry was posted in Austen Sequels, Favorite Books, Favorite Things, Must Read for Jane Austen Fans!, Thoughts on Writing in the JA Genre, Wandering words.... Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading, Writing and Arithmetic Part 1

  1. A nook? Wow! Hope you enjoy it.
    I do most of my “reading” with talking books also. So I’ve been looking into how to get The Darcys of Pemberley produced as an audio file, to take advantage of that slice of the market. Another new technology to master, I suspect.

Leave a Reply

